Growing the Fava Beans is the Easy Part


This lovely mound of beans was my third harvest from my plants, and honestly by this point the prep required to actually get the beans to the table had me daunted.  The process goes like this, you shell the beans from the pod (not easy),  the shelled beans have a tough outer skin that needs to be removed, so you parboil the shelled beans for 2-3 minutes, drain, ice and then remove the outer skin from each and every bean (not easy).  So before this 3rd harvest I got some advice……

Take the bean pod and rip it in half

Then just squeeze the pod and the beans will pop right out

Yes my thumbnail is dirty, shucking Fava’s is HARD WORK!  and yes that is a dog hair jauntily sticking out from my index finger, but unfortunately you cannot eat in this house without dog hair, it is a condiment.

6 responses to “Growing the Fava Beans is the Easy Part

  1. It sounds like our dogs are on the same page. Everything here is covered with Pica hair, and that’s just the way it’s going to be! I’m a fellow Camp Blogaway camper, flying in from Albuquerque. I figured I’d calm my nerves by saying hello to everyone online before this weekend, though it just seems to be getting me more excited (hence the 2am comment!) I’m looking forward to meeting you 🙂

    ~Danni with LambAround

  2. Peter J. Palmer

    MMM…favas! Love ’em in so many naughty ways. One of my all time faves is the fava bean pesto that Chef Ryan Simas makes at Farallon in SF. Yes, it’s even more work after all the basic prep involved with these suckas, but it is sooooo tasty.

  3. I am so impressed at your Fava Bean harvest! Half wine barrel, huh? I can accommodate that on my balcony…

    And please, pass the dog hair. It makes everything more delicious 😉

    • Sara,
      I am so sorry I didn’t get a chance to chat with you this weekend, I have been a fan of yours for a long time! I think I am going to bottle the dog hair and sell it.
      Lori

  4. Hi Danni,
    It was so nice to meet you this weekend! Dog hair….yummy!
    Lori

Leave a Reply

